Posted by: Radha | April 23, 2009

Why should I vote?

Mum asked the maid today, “Did you vote?”. She said, “No, I might not vote.” When asked why she may not vote, she said “They usually pay us money and tell us which picture to vote for. We do that. This time around, no one gave us any money. So I won’t vote.”
Quite taken aback, mum explained that apart from money there’s a better reason to vote. She explained the two main logos – lotus and palm. Asked her to vote for any one of those two. The maid nodded her head and said she would take her husband along and tell him to do the same.
I wonder, if an illiterate woman born and brought up in the posh slums of Jayanagar 4th block can have this attitude, what happens to the millions of illiterate villagers who don’t even know the meaning of a vote. Its saddening to imagine the number of scoundrels (read politicians) exploiting them for votes.
Now I know Mayavati’s target audience and the reason behind her regressive manifesto.
We are lucky that God is looking over India. Our leaders are definitely not.

Responses

  1. Hi Radz,

    ” I wonder, if an illiterate woman born and brought up in the posh slums of Jayanagar 4th block can have this attitude, what happens to the millions of illiterate villagers who don’t even know the meaning of a vote. “

    Forget the illiterates. Think about the literates. I do not understand what refrains them from voting. I came to Bengaluru from Manipal just to vote shelling out 1K. I know that voting is my duty but how many do understand that it is a “duty of each indian” When less than 50% literates (most of who had got a paid- off to vote)only vote in a place like Bengaluru just think about the poverty-stricken villages in our country where they have their own problems apart from politics.

    Rightly said “GOD SAVE OUR COUNTRY” ooops if MK / communists sees this they would comment “Which god? which university did he pass from?” Luckily or unluckily those rogues themself have not seen much of schooling

  2. Yeah Praveen.. When I watched the news that night, I was shocked to see the turnout% in Bangalore.. Its very sad.. And the number of people who complain about the elected govt never reduce..
    And you came down all the way to cast your vote?? You are awesome kano 🙂 I doubt if I would have done that if I were away from home 😦

  3. I know what you are talking about. Being born and Brought up in UP, I know how all this functions. U r so correct abt Mayawati, but its not only money every party does so.
    She has done it with spreading the venom of Castism across the state. She is harping on the that caste is better than you. I would give you this to become better than them.
    Poor ppl don’t know the ones they are trying to better out aren’t living in a better state either.
    P.s. Same goes for Mulayam as well.

  4. Casteism?? I didn’t know they play at that up north.. that’s very bad ya.. Its so easy to exploit the illiterate and impoverished.. they will do anything for food and money..
    This is a vicious circle in India.. From where I see it, this situation is never gonna change..

  5. Jagoree had put lot of effort for the awareness of the Urban Software engineers to vote and the % turned out very poor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

